Don’t give up just now….

Life is full of seasons of varying forms and sorts though it’s easily convenient to say Winter, Summer, Spring and Autumn are the four seasons.

Living in England however has taught me that there are only three seasons – Good Weather, Bad Weather or Oh God Weather!

Jokes asides! In our lives there will always be times when things are good, things are bad or things are just ‘God I need a miracle right now’.

Ran into the picture below today. It was taken last winter as I waited at the train station to pick someone up and of course, with a camera in my back seat, it became only natural to take photos. Immediately I saw this today, it reminded me of the ‘Oh God Weather’.

It reminded me of those moments in life when dreams, hopes, aspirations and visions are not just coming together –  Those moments in your life when you have done all you possibly know in the book that you believe will take you from point A to point B  yet it looks like you’re just playing with sand on the beach all by yourself on a stormy night.

I met a very ‘privileged’ musician years back that told me the story of his misfortunes for almost ten years before he got his lucky break (as we all call it these days) and now tours the world with big stars in the capacity of Musical Director. Of course he was trying to encourage me but what leaves an imprint in my memory from that conversation were his closing words.

He said ‘Many people I’ve met in this business give up when they are just 5minutes away from their big break! Don’t give up just now man!’

Those words I have not and cannot forget especially in moments when nothing works. Its bad enough when its just bad weather but when it goes beyond you, you just need to jumpstart the engines again with whatever means possible.

For me, these words propel me to approach the matter in a new way again. It might mean trying to learn new distractions to take my focus away from the current mountains. It might mean doing the same thing again but with a new or meticulous approach. It might mean tearing it all apart and rebuilding again. It might mean leaving it to be for a while and coming back to it later. It might mean just sleeping and not worrying about it. It might even mean taking a walk in the park looking for nothing!

Of course, its easy to say those smart things like ‘Set Goals’ , ‘Be disciplined’, ‘Take Stock’, ‘ Educate yourself’, ‘Re-invent yourself’, ‘Invest in PR, Marketing and Promotions’ etc but I am assuming the reader is not a lazy baggard who does nothing with his brains and life.

In fact people observing always appear to know the right words to say to you, like they have ‘Good Weather’ all life through. Who knows? They might but if you are like me, its not always the joy-ride we read about in books or expect or anticipate or pray or imagine.

Well, I don’t know where you are right now and what weather conditions you feel at the moment also but when you look at this picture, remember that as everyone and everything might not be there, DON’T GIVE UP JUST NOW…you might be five minutes away from Neverland!

Peace and blessings

ISO 100, 32mm, f13, 1/20secs

About SHOTbyFEMO

My name is 'Femi (aka Femo) and these are pictures SHOTbyFEMO I am a freelance hobbyist Photographer with a passion for capturing treasured 'moments' with pictures. My ideal 'Kodak Moment' is such that tell different stories to different eyes that behold them and its a new story when you view it again. I love pictures that are bold, adventurous, iconic and atimes, just outright strange/different. It is my hope that armed with my favourite toys and tools, I can always capture these moments that leave you appreciative of 'the power of a picture'. Peace and Blessings to all of you that are followers of the light
This entry was posted in Random. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment